The following are grammatical mistakes (some maybe not entirely a mistake) that I have found throughout the past few weeks. Enjoy:

The lower bolded wording above the 3 graphics reads: “For mobile apps without the inline audience selector”. I read this as I was changing my privacy settings on Facebook, and it sounded odd to me. I believe that “inline” should be changed to “online”. That would make a lot more sense.

I found this mistake as I was researching a scholarly journal article. The last part of the second-to-last sentence of the abstract of the article reads: “that he has previously repressed for fear of madness”. I don’t know about you, but I think the author is trying to say that they replace the area of the brain designated for fear OR madness with a state of unconsciousness.

This is a no-brainer. Around my sorority house, we have inspirational sayings… but due to the fact that it uses the wrong tense of the verb “to know” it lacks the inspirational quality that it should possess. It should either read: “She knew it couldn’t…” or “She didn’t KNOW it couldn’t…”

This one is funny. I saw it on the back of a beer truck. This is the one that the “mistake” seems to be one made on purpose. Obviously it should read: “Contents Under Pressure” but their marketing team was smart with this one because people can derive the correct understanding when they read: “Contents Under Pleasure”.

This concludes my Copy Edit The World #2. Stay tuned 🙂

